All certifications

EPA Safer Choice

CHEMICALS

Rigor
3/5
Independence
4/5
Enforcement
3/5
Weight in a score
1.5/10

CONFIDENCE HIGH · ANALYSIS ONLY, NOT AN AUDIT OR CERTIFICATION

Our read

Safer Choice is a chemical-ingredient safety mark and one of the more credible ones. EPA scientists review the full confidential formulation, every intentionally added ingredient is compared against the lowest-hazard options in its functional class, and the mark carries a federal agency behind it rather than a trade body. The 2024 standard also reaches finished-product pH, fragrance sensitiser limits at 100 ppm, and primary packaging with minimum post-consumer recycled content of 15% for plastic and 50% for fibre. The persistent misreading is treating the label as a general sustainability claim. It is not. The standard has no greenhouse gas requirement at all: reducing carbon-based energy appears only as a voluntary provision partners may act on, explicitly not necessary for certification. There is no labour criterion, no sourcing criterion, no deforestation or biodiversity criterion, and nothing about the manufacturing facility's water or emissions. A Safer Choice bottle tells a reader what is inside the bottle is lower-hazard than the alternatives. It tells them nothing about how the contents were produced or what it cost the climate.

What it covers

  • Every intentionally added ingredient screened against functional-class hazard criteria for human health and environmental fate
  • Ingredients drawn from or assessed against the Safer Chemical Ingredients List, with green circle, green half-circle and yellow triangle hazard designations
  • Finished-product pH constrained to 2 to 11.5 as sold, to limit dermal and eye injury
  • Fragrance materials must meet the Safer Choice Criteria for Fragrances; skin sensitisers capped at 0.01% (100 ppm) of the final product
  • Optional Fragrance-Free label for products containing no fragrance materials
  • Primary packaging must be recyclable with minimum post-consumer recycled content, or designed for reuse
  • Packaging heavy-metal and chemical restrictions per Toxics in Packaging Clearinghouse model legislation
  • No intentionally added ozone-depleting substances
  • Product performance must be demonstrated comparable to conventional products in its class

What it leaves out

Not a criticism of the scheme. A standard is a scope, and this is where this one ends.

  • No greenhouse gas or energy requirement; carbon-based energy reduction is an explicitly voluntary provision under Section 4.2.3.1
  • No Scope 1, 2 or 3 emissions measurement or reduction requirement
  • No labour, human rights or worker welfare criteria beyond existing OSHA obligations
  • No raw material sourcing, deforestation, biodiversity or land-use criteria
  • No supply chain traceability requirement beyond ingredient identity disclosure to EPA
  • No water use or effluent criteria at the manufacturing facility
  • No corporate-level or company-wide assessment; certification attaches to the formulation
  • Site audit only once per three-year cycle, and audits are scheduled rather than unannounced
  • Packaging recycled-content thresholds are exemptible on performance or recyclability grounds

The scheme

Issued byUnited States Environmental Protection Agency, Office of Chemical Safety and Pollution Prevention (Pollution Prevention programme)
Where it appliesUnited States
Audit and renewalThree-year Partnership Agreement with EPA; on-site manufacturing audit once per three-year cycle (and first in a new partnership), desk audit in year two; partnership terminates three years from signature unless renewed
CostNot published. EPA does not publish a certification fee schedule for Safer Choice; the partner bears the cost of the third-party profiler's desk and on-site audits, negotiated privately.

What we read

EPA's Safer Choice and Design for the Environment (DfE) Standard, August 2024

  • carbon and energy are voluntary, not required — Participation in these programs and other energy-saving efforts are optional and are not necessary for product certification
  • pH requirement — To minimize potential for dermal and eye irritation or injury, pH must be >= 2 and <= 11.5 for products as sold.
  • fragrance sensitiser limit — Each fragrance material that is a skin sensitizer is limited to no more than 0.01% (100 ppm) in the final product.
  • packaging post-consumer recycled content thresholds — Plastic packaging requires 15% minimum post-consumer recycled content. Glass packaging requires 25%... Fiber/cardboard/paper packaging requires 50%... Metal packaging requires 30%
  • audit regime and third-party profiler — A qualified third-party profiler will conduct the site visits or paper audits... as well as the competencies for third-party profilers for products in ISO/IEC Guide 17065... A third-party profiler must be free of any potential conflicts of
  • renewal period — Failure to renew will result in termination of the Partnership three years from the date of signature.
  • enforcement on non-compliance — Unaddressed or egregious noncompliance may serve as grounds for terminating the partnership. In any case of serious noncompliance, the Safer Choice or DfE partner may be asked to immediately cease use of the Safer Choice label
  • Safer Chemical Ingredients List designations — Green circle: The chemical has been verified to be of low concern based on experimental and modeled data.

What we could not establish

Could not establish, from a citable source, the effect of recent EPA budget or staffing changes on the Safer Choice programme. The EPA Safer Choice landing page was current as of 13 July 2026 and carried no notice of pause, reduction or reorganisation, and no programme-status statement was located; the brief's question about recent EPA budget and staffing changes is therefore left open rather than answered from inference. Also could not confirm whether EPA charges any certification fee, or locate a published register of terminated partnerships, which is why enforcement is scored 3 rather than 4 despite a documented termination process.

Who holds it

Scored companies carrying this mark, highest first. Holding it is not the same as scoring well — the mark is one input of six.

CompanyScope heldYKO score
Tide Not stated 52.5
Blueland Not stated 47.3
Clorox Not stated 40.8
ECOS Not stated 36.5

If you hold this certification, it is already on your record. What a buyer cannot see there yet is the evidence behind the parts this standard does not reach.

Have ours built — free See who holds what