Fair Trade Certified
SOCIAL
CONFIDENCE MEDIUM · ANALYSIS ONLY, NOT AN AUDIT OR CERTIFICATION
Our read
Two organisations use the words fair trade as a mark, and they are not the same. Fair Trade USA left the Fairtrade International system at the end of 2011 and now writes its own standards under its own board, issuing the Fair Trade Certified mark in North America. Fairtrade International issues the separate FAIRTRADE Mark and, for coffee, applies only its small farmers' organisation standard. Fair Trade USA does not accept that restriction. Its own position is that participation should include workers employed by larger farms and farmers who are not part of organised co-operatives. That is the contested decision at the centre of the split. Supporters argue it extends the premium to hired workers who were previously excluded; critics, including Fair World Project, argue it removes the co-operative structure that gave smallholders bargaining power and turns the mark into a plantation label. Both readings describe the same fact. The mechanism itself is real: a published minimum price for defined products and a Community Development Premium controlled by elected representatives. Enforcement is the weaker half. Fair Trade USA decertified Fyffes' Suragroh melon operation in Honduras in December 2018, but only after a public campaign, and the labour record was documented for years beforehand.
What it covers
- Fair Trade Minimum Price floor for defined products, published in the scheme's price and premium tables
- Community Development Premium paid on top of the sale price
- Premium governed by democratically elected worker or farmer representatives who decide how it is spent
- Labour standards including freedom of association, no forced or child labour, and health and safety
- Environmental requirements including restricted pesticide lists and waste and water management
- Traceability and contract terms through the Trade Standard
- Coverage across more than 30 product categories including coffee, cocoa, produce, seafood, dairy, apparel and home goods
- Certification of plantations, estates, factories and independent smallholders, not only co-operatives
What it leaves out
Not a criticism of the scheme. A standard is a scope, and this is where this one ends.
- A minimum price does not apply to every certified category; several categories carry a premium only
- No requirement that the producer be a democratically organised co-operative
- The premium is a development fund, not wages; it does not establish a living wage
- No greenhouse gas measurement or reduction requirement
- No organic requirement; Fair Trade and organic are separate claims
- Fair Trade USA does not publish a routine register of suspensions and decertifications
- Mass-balance and content-percentage rules mean a product carrying the mark may contain a minority of certified ingredient by weight
- Auditor accreditation status not published in a form that could be confirmed
The scheme
| Issued by | Fair Trade USA |
|---|---|
| Where it applies | Global production base; the mark is marketed primarily in the United States and Canada |
| Audit and renewal | Not published in the material located; standards operate on a multi-year certificate with periodic audit |
| Cost | Not published |
What we read
Fair Trade USA Agricultural Production Standard (APS) 1.2.0, Capture Fisheries Standard (CFS) 2.0.0, Factory Production Standard (FPS) 2.0.1, Trade Standard 2.1.0, as listed in the Fair Trade USA standards library, 2026
- what_it_covers (certification of larger farms and non-co-operative farmers), yko_assessment — all farmers and workers should have the opportunity to participate in the Fair Trade system, including workers employed by larger farms and farmers that are not part of organized cooperatives
- what_it_covers (premium governance) — Participants democratically elect a group of representatives to manage Community Development Funds and projects.
- standard_version_read — Agricultural Production Standard (APS) 1.2.0, Capture Fisheries Standard (CFS) 2.0.0, Factory Production Standard (FPS) 2.0.1, Trade Standard 2.1.0
- yko_assessment (distinction from Fairtrade International; coffee restricted to small farmers' organisations) — only fair trade standards for small farmers' organisations are applicable
- enforcement_score, yko_assessment (Fyffes decertification) — new evidence from trusted sources in Honduras which alleged recent violations of Fair Trade standards
- yko_assessment (critique of standards development and enforcement) — inadequate standards development process
What we could not establish
The exact 2011 sequence (announcement in September 2011, resignation from Fairtrade International effective 31 December 2011, launch of the Fair Trade for All initiative) could not be confirmed from a retrievable primary or contemporaneous source in this session; the split itself and its substantive consequence are sourced to Fair Trade USA's own current position statement and to Fairtrade International's contrasting coffee rule. The date should be re-verified before publication. Could not establish: named certification bodies conducting Fair Trade USA audits, whether those bodies hold ISO 17065 accreditation, audit frequency, whether unannounced audits occur, certificate validity period, certification fees, or which categories carry a minimum price versus premium only. Independence is scored 3 rather than 4 solely because accreditation could not be confirmed; if ISO 17065 accreditation is verified, 4 is the correct score. Enforcement is scored 3 because a decertification is documented and published but no routine sanctions register exists.
Who holds it
Scored companies carrying this mark, highest first. Holding it is not the same as scoring well — the mark is one input of six.
| Company | Scope held | YKO score |
|---|---|---|
| Tony's Chocolonely | Not stated | 56.9 |
| Cascadian Farm | Not stated | 56.5 |
| Peet's Coffee | Not stated | 50.6 |
| O Organics | Not stated | 36.3 |
| Naturipe | Not stated | 20.3 |
| Trader Joe's | Not stated | 13.8 |
If you hold this certification, it is already on your record. What a buyer cannot see there yet is the evidence behind the parts this standard does not reach.