Rainforest Alliance
ECOSYSTEM
CONFIDENCE MEDIUM · ANALYSIS ONLY, NOT AN AUDIT OR CERTIFICATION
Our read
Since the 2018 UTZ merger and the 2020 Sustainable Agriculture Standard, this is the largest agricultural certification in food and beverage, and its scope is genuinely broad: deforestation, human rights due diligence, pesticides, water, living wage measurement. The design choice that defines it is continuous improvement. Beyond a set of core requirements, farms select their own improvement targets through the smart meters mechanism, which means the seal marks a direction of travel rather than a fixed performance level. Two farms holding it can be materially different. Three specific limits should be read alongside the seal. There is no guaranteed minimum price; the scheme's payment mechanism is a buyer-paid premium, not a price floor, and academic critics have contrasted this unfavourably with fair trade schemes. Mass balance is permitted for cocoa and several other categories, so a labelled product need not physically contain certified material. And investigative reporting has repeatedly found conditions on certified operations at odds with the seal, including the Guardian's 2020 findings on certified Costa Rican pineapple growers. The seal is evidence of a management system under audit, not of an outcome verified on every farm.
What it covers
- Farm-level requirements on deforestation and native ecosystem conversion
- Human rights due diligence, including an assess-and-address approach to child and forced labour
- Occupational health and safety and restricted pesticide lists
- Water, soil and biodiversity management
- Living wage measurement and gender equality requirements
- A mandatory cash payment to farmers from buyers, formerly the Sustainability Differential and Sustainability Investments, transitioning to a single Premium from October 2025
- Supply chain requirements and traceability rules for certificate holders
- A separate, more demanding Regenerative Agriculture Certification tier alongside the base seal
What it leaves out
Not a criticism of the scheme. A standard is a scope, and this is where this one ends.
- No guaranteed minimum price for any crop
- Mass balance permitted for cocoa, processed fruits including orange juice, hazelnut, cashews, almonds, coconut oil, flowers, and key herbs and spices, so certified and uncertified material may be mixed
- Under mass balance, a product carrying the seal need not physically contain certified material
- Continuous-improvement design means many requirements are self-selected targets rather than fixed thresholds
- Smart meters set context-specific improvement goals, so two certified farms can hold the seal at very different performance levels
- Certification bodies are authorised and overseen by Rainforest Alliance's own assurance system, not by an external accreditation body
- No published register of suspended or cancelled certificates was located
- No greenhouse gas reduction requirement at product level
The scheme
| Issued by | Rainforest Alliance |
|---|---|
| Where it applies | Global |
| Audit and renewal | Multi-year certificate cycle with periodic audits by authorised certification bodies; the exact validity period could not be confirmed from the published rules |
| Cost | Not published as a single range. Certificate holders pay audit fees to their chosen certification body plus Rainforest Alliance programme fees; the scheme publishes a Fee Catalogue for Certification Bodies. |
What we read
2020 Sustainable Agriculture Standard: Farm Requirements, SA-S-SD-1-V1.3 (updated 13 January 2026); Traceability Annex v1.4; Supply Chain Requirements v1.5; Policy on Transition from Sustainability Differential and Sustainability Investments to Premium
- standard_version_read — SA-S-SD-1-V1.3 2020 Sustainable Agriculture Standard Farm Requirements
- what_it_omits (mass balance crops and mechanism) — certified and non-certified products can be mixed. However, the volume sold as certified cannot exceed the volume initially purchased as certified.
- what_it_covers (premium transition), renewal_period — October 1, 2025: The Rainforest Alliance Traceability Platform stops collecting SD/SI data and begins collecting premium data instead.
- independence_score, what_it_omits (assurance run by the scheme owner) — manages, and is responsible for, a global Assurance System for Certification Bodies
- issuer, what_it_covers (UTZ merger, smart meters) — Smart Meters allowing farmers to set context-specific improvement targets rather than meeting predefined benchmarks
- what_it_omits (no minimum price), yko_assessment — establish minimum housing and sanitary conditions but do not stipulate a minimum price for coffee
- yko_assessment (investigative findings on certified operations) — exploiting their labour force, using illegal agrochemicals, and concealing hundreds of undocumented workers from auditors
- what_it_covers (regenerative tier) — Independent auditors visit periodically to check that farms and companies are meeting the requirements of their chosen standard.
What we could not establish
Version-precision point worth flagging: the current Traceability Annex v1.4 lists mass balance as available to supply chain certificate holders for cocoa, processed fruits including orange juice, hazelnut, cashews, almonds, coconut oil, flowers, and key herbs and spices. Tea is not on that list. The widely repeated claim that Rainforest Alliance permits mass balance for tea may reflect the pre-2020 UTZ or legacy programme and should not be asserted against the current annex; herbal infusions may fall under herbs and spices. Could not establish from primary sources: certificate validity period, audit frequency, whether unannounced audits are required and at what rate, whether certification bodies must hold ISO 17065 accreditation, and whether Assurance Services International still performs oversight (the current certification-body page attributes the assurance system to Rainforest Alliance itself). The 2023 BBC Panorama findings on Kenyan tea estates could not be verified in this session because the BBC and Guardian domains were not fetchable, so that case is deliberately not cited; the sourced investigative critiques used here are the Guardian's 2020 Costa Rican pineapple findings and the Chiquita-supplier water contamination litigation. No published sanctions register was found, which caps enforcement at 3.
Who holds it
Scored companies carrying this mark, highest first. Holding it is not the same as scoring well — the mark is one input of six.
| Company | Scope held | YKO score |
|---|---|---|
| Ghirardelli | Not stated | 43 |
| Dole | Not stated | 31.8 |
| Tazo | Not stated | 16.8 |
| Chocolove | Not stated | 11.4 |
If you hold this certification, it is already on your record. What a buyer cannot see there yet is the evidence behind the parts this standard does not reach.