USDA Certified Biobased
MATERIALS
CONFIDENCE HIGH · ANALYSIS ONLY, NOT AN AUDIT OR CERTIFICATION
Our read
This label measures one number, and it measures it well. ASTM D6866 uses carbon-14 dating to separate new organic carbon from fossil organic carbon, an ASTM-certified third-party laboratory runs the test, results go directly to USDA as well as to the applicant, and USDA audits certified products and re-tests them. That is a stronger verification chain than most voluntary marks. What it verifies is a content percentage and nothing else. USDA says so itself: the label is not a guarantee or warranty of safety or an expression of environmental preference or impact, and the programme describes itself as single-attribute. Nothing in the standard reaches how the feedstock was grown, whether the land was cleared for it, whether the product biodegrades, what chemicals are in it, or what its carbon footprint is. USDA even states that a higher biobased percentage does not indicate superior performance, safety or environmental impact. Note also that the percentage is of organic carbon with water and inorganic carbon excluded, so a 60% biobased product is not 60% plant matter by weight. Outside the 143 designated federal purchasing categories the floor is only 25%.
What it covers
- The percentage of biobased content in a product or its packaging, displayed as a number on the label
- Measurement by ASTM D6866 carbon-14 testing, the ratio of new organic carbon to total organic carbon
- Testing by an ASTM-certified third-party laboratory, with results sent directly to USDA as well as to the applicant
- USDA review of the application and grant or denial of certification
- A minimum of 25% biobased content for products outside the 143 designated federal purchasing categories, or the category-specific minimum for products inside them
- Routine USDA audits of certified products and packaging, with periodic re-testing at the company's cost
- Separate certification of product content and of packaging content
What it leaves out
Not a criticism of the scheme. A standard is a scope, and this is where this one ends.
- Says nothing about how the feedstock was grown: no organic, regenerative, pesticide, fertiliser or soil criteria
- No land-use, deforestation or biodiversity criteria; raw materials need not be grown in the United States
- No requirement that the product biodegrade, compost or be recyclable
- No greenhouse gas, energy or carbon footprint measurement or threshold
- No chemical hazard or toxicity screening; biobased carbon can be hazardous carbon
- No labour, human rights or supply chain criteria
- No product performance requirement
- Water and inorganic carbon are excluded from the calculation, so the percentage is of organic carbon, not of the product
- A test-exempt application route exists where a reseller can obtain certification on a manufacturer's shared certification without ASTM D6866 testing of its own
The scheme
| Issued by | United States Department of Agriculture, BioPreferred Program (statutory basis: 2002 Farm Bill, reauthorised by the Agriculture Improvement Act of 2018; 7 CFR part 3201) |
|---|---|
| Where it applies | United States federal programme, open to applicants globally; companies from more than 50 countries participate |
| Audit and renewal | No fixed renewal interval published. Certification is maintained through routine USDA audits with periodic re-testing at the company's expense. |
| Cost | No fee to participate in the programme, apply, certify or label. The company pays for ASTM D6866 testing, approximately $400 USD per sample plus shipping, and for periodic re-testing during audits. |
What we read
USDA BioPreferred Program voluntary labeling initiative as published July 2026, applying ASTM D6866 as cited in 7 CFR part 3201.7; statutory basis Agriculture Improvement Act of 2018
- the label is not an environmental claim — The USDA Certified Biobased Product label is not a guarantee or warranty of safety or an expression of environmental preference or impact.
- single-attribute programme — The BioPreferred Program is a single-attribute program that focuses exclusively on biobased content.
- higher percentage does not mean better — More renewable organic carbon does not necessarily indicate superior performance, safety, or environmental impact.
- third-party testing to ASTM D6866 cited in federal law — products are tested for biobased content by an ASTM-certified third party lab to verify the biobased content in the product using ASTM D6866. The standard is cited in federal law (7 CFR part 3201.7)
- 25% minimum outside designated categories — Products that do not fall under one of these product categories must be at least 25% biobased.
- routine audits — USDA will routinely audit USDA Certified Biobased Products and Packaging to ensure that these products and packaging contain the biobased content that is displayed on the label.
- cost_range — there is no fee for manufacturers or distributors to participate in the Program, certification, labeling, or application process... Product testing is completed using ASTM D6866, which costs approximately $400 USD per sample, plus shipping
- feedstock need not be US-grown — No. Companies from more than 50 countries participate
- measurement basis excludes water and inorganic carbon — the ratio of a product's new organic carbon to total organic carbon... Water and inorganic carbon (such as carbonate) are excluded.
What we could not establish
Could not establish a published certification validity term or fixed renewal interval; the programme relies on routine audits with periodic re-testing rather than a stated expiry. Could not locate a published register of revoked or suspended certifications, which caps enforcement at 3 despite the federal statutory basis and documented audit programme. Could not establish the frequency of routine audits or the share of certified products audited in a given year. The test-exempt application route for resellers relying on a manufacturer's shared certification is documented in the FAQ but its conditions and prevalence were not established.
Who holds it
Scored companies carrying this mark, highest first. Holding it is not the same as scoring well — the mark is one input of six.
| Company | Scope held | YKO score |
|---|---|---|
| Tide | Not stated | 52.5 |
| Blueland | Not stated | 47.3 |
| Caboo | Not stated | 17 |
| bim bam boo | Not stated | 16 |
If you hold this certification, it is already on your record. What a buyer cannot see there yet is the evidence behind the parts this standard does not reach.