All certifications

USDA Organic

INGREDIENTS

Rigor
3/5
Independence
5/5
Enforcement
5/5
Weight in a score
2/10

CONFIDENCE HIGH · ANALYSIS ONLY, NOT AN AUDIT OR CERTIFICATION

Our read

USDA Organic is the strongest instrument in this set on independence and enforcement, and among the weakest on ambition. It is federal regulation, not a private label: certifiers are accredited by USDA, inspection is annual and on-site, and misuse of the seal is a federal offence with published settlement agreements and civil penalties. That machinery is real, and the 2023 Strengthening Organic Enforcement rule closed the biggest hole in it by requiring NOP Import Certificates and certification of the previously uncertified brokers and traders that handled imported organic grain. What the machinery enforces is a practice list, not an outcome. Nothing in 7 CFR Part 205 requires an operation to measure or reduce emissions, pay a wage floor, or account for packaging. The mistake readers most often make is treating the seal as a general sustainability rating. It is a specific, well-policed claim about inputs and methods, and it says nothing at all about carbon, labour or packaging. Read alongside a carbon or labour scheme it is informative; read alone it is narrow.

What it covers

  • Prohibited synthetic pesticides, herbicides and fertilisers on certified land
  • Three-year transition period before land qualifies as organic
  • Excluded methods: genetic engineering, ionising radiation, sewage sludge
  • National List of permitted synthetics and prohibited naturals, reviewed by the NOSB
  • Soil fertility and crop rotation practice requirements for crop operations
  • 100% organic feed, no routine antibiotics or growth hormones in livestock
  • Outdoor access, stocking density and confinement limits for livestock and poultry (OLPS, phasing to 2029)
  • Organic handling: no commingling with non-organic product, cleaning-agent and pest-control controls
  • Annual on-site inspection by a USDA-accredited certifying agent
  • Mandatory unannounced inspection of at least 5% of each certifier's operations each year (SOE)
  • Traceability records and NOP Import Certificates on all organic imports (SOE, since March 2024)

What it leaves out

Not a criticism of the scheme. A standard is a scope, and this is where this one ends.

  • No greenhouse gas measurement, reduction or reporting requirement of any kind
  • No Scope 1, 2 or 3 emissions disclosure
  • No energy, water use or fuel efficiency threshold
  • No labour standard: no wage floor, freedom of association, or worker safety requirement
  • No packaging requirement: material, recyclability and plastic content are out of scope
  • No biodiversity outcome measurement, only practice requirements
  • No animal welfare depth beyond outdoor access, space and handling; no breed, lifespan or slaughter-throughput limits
  • No soil carbon or soil health outcome metric; the standard is practice-based, not results-based
  • No requirement on transport distance, food miles or cold chain
  • No corporate-level governance, ownership or tax-conduct criteria

The scheme

Issued byUSDA
Where it appliesUnited States market; applies worldwide to any operation selling product labelled organic in the US, via USDA-accredited certifying agents in roughly 70 countries
Audit and renewalAnnual: annual update of the Organic System Plan plus at least one on-site inspection each year; certification does not expire but continues only while annual review is passed
CostNot published as a single schedule; certifiers set their own fees, commonly USD 750-2,000+ per year for a small farm and higher for handlers and multi-scope operations. USDA OCCSP reimburses up to 75% of costs, capped at USD 750 per certification scope

What we read

7 CFR Part 205, National Organic Program (current eCFR text, 2026), as amended by the Strengthening Organic Enforcement final rule (published 19 January 2023, compliance date 19 March 2024) and the Organic Livestock and Poultry Standards final rule (published 2 November 2023, effective 2 January 2024, outdoor stocking and exit-area compliance to 2 January 2029)

What we could not establish

The statutory civil penalty is USD 10,000 per violation in OFPA as enacted; the operative figure is higher after federal inflation adjustment and secondary sources cite figures around USD 20,000. The exact current adjusted amount was not confirmed from the CFR inflation-adjustment table, so the JSON cites the statutory text rather than an adjusted number. USDA also registered the organic seal as a trademark, which adds Lanham Act remedies, but the practical frequency of that route was not established. Certifier fee schedules vary widely and no single published national range exists.

Who holds it

Scored companies carrying this mark, highest first. Holding it is not the same as scoring well — the mark is one input of six.

CompanyScope heldYKO score
Cascadian Farm Not stated 56.5
Bertolli (olive oil) Not stated 54.8
Peet's Coffee Not stated 50.6
Theo Not stated 43.3
Nature's Promise Not stated 41.3
O Organics Not stated 36.3
Lundberg Family Farms Not stated 34.7
San Francisco Bay Coffee Not stated 32
Simple Truth Not stated 25
Naturipe Not stated 20.3
Tazo Not stated 16.8
Taylor Lane Not stated 14.9
Muir Glen Not stated 13.8
Trader Joe's Not stated 13.8
Bianco Di Napoli Not stated 13
Bellwether Farms Not stated 11.5
Muddy Waters Coffee Company Not stated 11.5

If you hold this certification, it is already on your record. What a buyer cannot see there yet is the evidence behind the parts this standard does not reach.

Have ours built — free See who holds what